4 levels of Volcano Status

Indonesia is a country with the most volcanic activity in the world.  This happens because Indonesia is passed by the circum-pacific belt, the ring of fire.

 According to National Geographic, the ring of fire is a route along the Pacific Ocean that has active volcanoes and frequent earthquakes.

 The ring of fire stretches for 40,000 kilometers across the Pacific, Juan de Fuca, Cocos, Indian-Australian, Nazca, North America and Philippines plates.

 As many as 75 percent of volcanoes in the world (about 450 mountains) are located in the ring of fire.  Of these, 127 of them are located in Indonesia.

 With a large number of volcanoes, Indonesia has a great risk of experiencing a volcanic eruption.

 The National Disaster Management Agency (BNPB) establishes four levels of volcanic status in mitigation efforts.

 These four levels are made based on the level of severity and how high the risk of a disaster caused.

 Meanwhile, the four levels are:

 1. Level 1 (Normal)

 Normal status is given to active volcanoes without harmful activity or magma activity.

 This status is also given to volcanoes that have basic volcanic activity.

 At this level, the relevant agencies carry out routine observations as well as surveys and investigations on the related volcanoes.

 2.Level 2 (Alert)

 At level 2, the wapada status will be given to volcanoes that have activity above normal levels and are characterized by increased seismic and volcanic activity, a slight change in magma, tectonic, and hydrothermal activity.

 In alert status, hazard assessment, checking of facilities and implementation of limited pickets will be carried out.

 Furthermore, related agencies will provide counseling or outreach to related parties as well as the local community.

 3.Level 3 (Standby)

 Alert status will be given to volcanoes that experience an eruption or cause a disaster.

 This is characterized by an intensive increase in seismic activity.  Eruptions could occur within two weeks if the increased activity data continues.

 So that, at this level, the relevant agencies will conduct outreach to areas that are under threat, prepare emergency facilities, carry out daily coordination, and pick up a full ticket.

 4. Level 4 (Caution)

 Alert status indicates that a volcano is about to erupt or is erupting.  In addition, this status is also given as a sign that there is a situation that will lead to disaster.

 The granting of this status is indicated when the volcano experiences an opening eruption accompanied by ash and smoke.

 Within this level, an eruption could potentially occur within 24 hours.  In this situation, the action that must be taken is to evacuate the surrounding areas that are potentially affected by disasters.  Relevant agencies are required to carry out daily coordination and full picket.
Next article Previous Articles
There are no comments yet :
Add a comment
Comment url
Related Post:
Tips and Information